• Déposer une plainte
  • Demande d'information
60th Rome Treaty anniversaryL’Europe est à vous - Le portail des services publics européens et nationaux en ligne

Statut

Langues disponibles : bg.es.cs.da.de.et.el.en.fr.ga.hr.it.lv.lt.hu.mt.nl.pl.pt.ro.sk.sl.fi.sv

Décision du Parlement européen concernant le statut et les conditions générales d'exercice des fonctions du Médiateur(1)

Le Parlement européen,

vu les traités instituant les Communautés européennes, notamment les articles 195, paragraphe 4, du traité instituant la Communauté européenne, 107 D, paragraphe 4, du traité instituant la Communauté européenne de l'énergie atomique,

vu l'avis de la Commission,

vu l'approbation du Conseil,

considérant qu'il convient de fixer le statut et les conditions générales d'exercice des fonctions du Médiateur, dans le respect des dispositions prévues par les traités instituant les Communautés européennes;

considérant qu'il y a lieu de déterminer les conditions dans lesquelles le Médiateur peut être saisi d'une plainte ainsi que les relations entre l'exercice des fonctions du Médiateur et les procédures juridictionnelles ou administratives;

considérant que le Médiateur, qui peut également agir de sa propre initiative, doit pouvoir disposer de tous les éléments nécessaires à l'exercice de ses fonctions; que, à cet effet, les institutions et organes communautaires sont tenus de fournir au Médiateur, à sa demande, les renseignements qu'il leur demande et sans préjudice de l'obligation qui incombe au Médiateur de ne pas les divulguer; que l'accès aux informations ou aux documents classifiés, en particulier aux documents sensibles au sens de l'article 9 du règlement (CE) n° 1049/2001(2) , devrait être subordonné au respect des réglementations sur la sécurité en vigueur dans l'institution ou l'organe communautaire concerné; que les institutions ou les organes qui transmettent des informations ou des documents classifiés, tels que mentionnés à l'article 3, paragraphe 2, premier alinéa, devraient informer le Médiateur de cette classification; que, pour l'application des dispositions de l'article 3, paragraphe 2, premier alinéa, le Médiateur devrait avoir arrêté au préalable avec l'institution ou l'organe concerné les modalités de traitement des informations ou des documents classifiés et des autres informations couvertes par l'obligation du secret professionnel; que, s'il ne reçoit pas l'assistance souhaitée, le Médiateur en informe le Parlement européen, auquel il appartient d'entreprendre les démarches appropriées;

considérant qu'il convient de prévoir les procédures à suivre lorsque les résultats des enquêtes du Médiateur font apparaître des cas de mauvaise administration; qu'il y a lieu également de prévoir la présentation d'un rapport d'ensemble du Médiateur au Parlement européen, à la fin de chaque session annuelle;

considérant que le Médiateur et son personnel sont tenus par une obligation de réserve pour ce qui est des informations dont ils ont eu connaissance dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions; que le Médiateur est en revanche tenu d'informer les autorités compétentes des faits qu'il estime relever du droit pénal dont il viendrait à avoir connaissance dans le cadre d'une enquête;

considérant qu'il convient de prévoir la possibilité d'une coopération entre le Médiateur et les autorités du même type existant dans certains États membres, dans le respect des législations nationales applicables;

considérant qu'il appartient au Parlement européen de nommer le Médiateur au début et pour la durée de chaque législature, parmi des personnalités qui sont citoyens de l'Union et qui apportent toutes les garanties d'indépendance et de compétence requises;

considérant qu'il y a lieu de prévoir les conditions dans lesquelles les fonctions du Médiateur prennent fin;

considérant que le Médiateur doit exercer ses fonctions en pleine indépendance, ce dont il prend l'engagement solennel devant la Cour de justice des Communautés européennes, dès son entrée en fonction; qu'il convient de déterminer les incompatibilités avec la fonction du Médiateur, ainsi que le traitement, les privilèges et les immunités qui sont accordés à celui-ci;

considérant qu'il y a lieu de prévoir des dispositions relatives aux fonctionnaires et agents du secrétariat dont le Médiateur doit être assisté et à son budget; que le siège du Médiateur est celui du Parlement européen;

considérant qu'il appartient au Médiateur d'adopter les dispositions d'exécution de la présente décision; qu'il convient, par ailleurs, de fixer certaines dispositions transitoires s'appliquant au premier Médiateur qui sera nommé après l'entrée en vigueur du traité sur l'Union européenne;

DÉCIDE:

Article premier

1. Le statut et les conditions générales d'exercice des fonctions du Médiateur sont fixés par la présente décision conformément aux articles 195, paragraphe 4, du traité instituant la Communauté européenne et 107 D, paragraphe 4, du traité instituant la Communauté européenne de l'énergie atomique.

2. Le Médiateur accomplit ses fonctions dans le respect des attributions conférées par les traités aux institutions et organes communautaires.

3. Le Médiateur ne peut intervenir dans une procédure engagée devant une juridiction, ni remettre en cause le bien-fondé d'une décision juridictionnelle.

Article 2

1. Dans les conditions et limites fixées par les traités susvisés, le Médiateur contribue à déceler les cas de mauvaise administration dans l'action des institutions et organes communautaires, à l'exclusion de la Cour de justice et du Tribunal de première instance dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions juridictionnelles, et à faire des recommandations en vue d'y remédier. L'action de toute autre autorité ou personne ne peut pas faire l'objet de plaintes auprès du Médiateur.

2. Tout citoyen de l'Union ou toute personne physique ou morale résidant ou ayant son siège statutaire dans un État membre de l'Union peut saisir le Médiateur, directement ou par le biais d'un membre du Parlement européen, d'une plainte relative à un cas de mauvaise administration dans l'action des institutions ou organes communautaires, à l'exclusion de la Cour de justice et du Tribunal de première instance dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions juridictionnelles. Le Médiateur informe l'institution ou l'organe concerné aussitôt qu'il a été saisi d'une plainte.

3. La plainte fait apparaître son objet ainsi que l'identité de la personne dont elle émane; cette personne peut demander que la plainte demeure confidentielle.

4. La plainte doit être introduite dans un délai de deux ans à compter de la date à laquelle les faits qui la justifient sont portés à la connaissance du plaignant et doit avoir été précédée de démarches administratives appropriées auprès des institutions et organes concernés.

5. Le Médiateur peut conseiller à la personne dont émane la plainte de s'adresser à une autre autorité.

6. Les plaintes présentées au Médiateur n'interrompent pas les délais de recours dans les procédures juridictionnelles ou administratives.

7. Lorsque le Médiateur, en raison d'une procédure juridictionnelle en cours ou achevée sur les faits allégués doit déclarer une plainte irrecevable ou mettre fin à son examen, les résultats des enquêtes auxquelles il a éventuellement procédé auparavant sont classés.

8. Le Médiateur ne peut être saisi d'une plainte ayant trait aux rapports de travail entre les institutions et organes communautaires et leurs fonctionnaires ou autres agents que si les possibilités de demandes ou de réclamations administratives internes, notamment les procédures visées à l'article 90, paragraphes 1 et 2, du statut des fonctionnaires, ont été épuisées par l'intéressé et après que les délais de réponse de la part de l'autorité ainsi saisie aient expiré.

9. Le Médiateur informe dans les meilleurs délais la personne dont émane la plainte de la suite donnée à celle-ci.

Article 3

1. Le Médiateur procède, de sa propre initiative ou à la suite d'une plainte, à toutes les enquêtes qu'il estime justifiées pour clarifier tout cas éventuel de mauvaise administration dans l'action des institutions et organes communautaires. Il en informe l'institution ou l'organe concerné, qui peut lui faire parvenir toute observation utile.

2. Les institutions et organes communautaires sont tenus de fournir au Médiateur les renseignements qu'il leur demande et lui donnent accès aux dossiers concernés. L'accès aux informations ou aux documents classifiés, en particulier aux documents sensibles au sens de l'article 9 du règlement (CE) n° 1049/2001, est subordonné au respect des réglementations sur la sécurité en vigueur dans l'institution ou l'organe communautaire concerné.

Les institutions ou les organes qui transmettent des informations ou des documents classifiés mentionnés au premier alinéa informent le Médiateur de cette classification.

Pour l'application des dispositions du premier alinéa, le Médiateur aura arrêté au préalable avec l'institution ou l'organe concerné les modalités de traitement des informations ou des documents classifiés et des autres informations couvertes par l'obligation du secret professionnel.

Les institutions ou organes concernés ne donnent accès aux documents émanant d'un État membre qui sont couverts par le secret en vertu d'une disposition législative ou réglementaire qu'après l'accord préalable de cet État membre.

Ils donnent accès aux autres documents émanant d'un État membre après en avoir averti l'État membre concerné.

Dans les deux cas, et conformément à l'article 4, le Médiateur ne peut divulguer le contenu de ces documents.

Les fonctionnaires et autres agents des institutions et organes communautaires sont tenus de témoigner à la demande du Médiateur; ils restent liés par les dispositions applicables du statut des fonctionnaires, notamment par l'obligation du secret professionnel.

3. Les autorités des États membres sont tenues de fournir au Médiateur, lorsqu'il en fait la demande, par l'intermédiaire des représentations permanentes des États membres auprès des Communautés européennes, toutes les informations qui peuvent contribuer à éclaircir des cas de mauvaise administration de la part des institutions ou organes communautaires, sauf si ces informations sont couvertes soit par des dispositions législatives ou réglementaires relatives au secret soit par des dispositions en empêchant la transmission. Néanmoins, dans ce dernier cas, l'État membre intéressé peut permettre au Médiateur de prendre connaissance de ces informations à condition qu'il s'engage à ne pas en divulguer le contenu.

4. Si l'assistance qu'il souhaite ne lui est pas apportée, le Médiateur en informe le Parlement européen, lequel entreprend les démarches appropriées.

5. Dans la mesure du possible, le Médiateur recherche avec l'institution ou l'organe concerné une solution de nature à éliminer les cas de mauvaise administration et à donner satisfaction à la plainte.

6. Lorsque le Médiateur décèle un cas de mauvaise administration, il saisit l'institution ou l'organe concerné, le cas échéant en lui soumettant des projets de recommandations. L'institution ou l'organe saisi lui fait parvenir un avis circonstancié dans un délai de trois mois.

7. Le Médiateur transmet ensuite un rapport au Parlement européen et à l'institution ou à l'organe concerné. Il peut y présenter des recommandations. La personne dont émane la plainte est informée, par les soins du Médiateur, du résultat de l'enquête, de l'avis rendu par l'institution ou l'organe concerné, ainsi que des recommandations éventuellement présentées par le Médiateur.

8. À la fin de chaque session annuelle, le Médiateur présente au Parlement européen un rapport sur les résultats de ses enquêtes.

Article 4

1. Le Médiateur et son personnel - auxquels s'appliquent l'article 287 du traité instituant la Communauté européenne et l'article 194 du traité instituant la Communauté européenne de l'énergie atomique - sont tenus de ne pas divulguer les informations et pièces dont ils ont eu connaissance dans le cadre des enquêtes auxquels ils procèdent. En particulier, ils sont tenus de ne divulguer aucune information classifiée ni aucun document transmis au Médiateur, notamment les documents sensibles au sens de l'article 9 du règlement (CE) n° 1049/2001 ou les documents entrant dans le champ d'application de la législation communautaire relative à la protection des données à caractère personnel, ni aucune information qui pourrait porter préjudice au plaignant ou à toute autre personne concernée, sans préjudice des dispositions du paragraphe 2.

2. Si, dans le cadre d'une enquête, il a connaissance de faits qu'il estime relever du droit pénal, le Médiateur en informe immédiatement les autorités nationales compétentes par l'intermédiaire des Représentations permanentes des États membres auprès des Communautés européennes et, dans la mesure où l'affaire relève de ses compétences, l'institution ou l'organe communautaire concerné, ou encore le service chargé de la lutte contre la fraude; le cas échéant, le Médiateur informe également l'institution ou organe communautaire dont relèverait le fonctionnaire ou l'agent mis en cause, qui peut éventuellement appliquer l'article 18, deuxième alinéa, du protocole sur les privilèges et immunités des Communautés européennes. Le Médiateur peut également informer l'institution ou l'organe communautaire concerné de faits mettant en cause, d'un point de vue disciplinaire, le comportement d'un de leurs fonctionnaires ou agents.

Article 4 bis

Le Médiateur et son personnel traitent les demandes d'accès du public à des documents autres que ceux visés à l'article 4, paragraphe 1, conformément aux conditions et aux limites prévues dans le règlement (CE) nº 1049/2001.

Article 5

1. Dans la mesure où cela peut contribuer à renforcer l'efficacité de ses enquêtes et à mieux sauvegarder les droits et intérêts des personnes qui déposent des plaintes devant lui, le Médiateur peut coopérer avec les autorités du même type existant dans certains États membres, dans le respect des législations nationales applicables. Le Médiateur ne peut pas exiger par cette voie des documents auxquels il n'aurait pas accès par application de l'article 3.

2. Dans les limites de ses compétences, telles qu'établies à l'article 195 du traité instituant la Communauté européenne et à l'article 107 D du traité instituant la Communauté européenne de l'énergie atomique, et en évitant tout double emploi avec les activités des autres institutions ou organes, le Médiateur peut, dans les mêmes conditions, coopérer avec les institutions et organes des États membres chargés de la promotion et de la protection des droits fondamentaux.

Article 6

1. Le Médiateur est nommé par le Parlement européen après chaque élection du Parlement européen et pour la durée de la législature. Son mandat est renouvelable.

2. Le Médiateur est choisi parmi des personnalités qui sont citoyens de l'Union, jouissent pleinement de leurs droits civils et politiques, offrent toute garantie d'indépendance et réunissent les conditions requises dans leur pays pour l'exercice des plus hautes fonctions juridictionnelles ou possèdent une expérience et une compétence notoires pour l'accomplissement des fonctions de Médiateur.

Article 7

1. Les fonctions du Médiateur prennent fin, soit à l'échéance de son mandat, soit par démission volontaire ou d'office.

2. Sauf en cas de démission d'office, le Médiateur reste en fonctions jusqu'à ce qu'il soit pourvu à son remplacement.

3. En cas de cessation anticipée des fonctions du Médiateur, son successeur est nommé dans un délai de trois mois à compter du début de la vacance et pour la période restant à courir jusqu'au terme de la législature.

Article 8

Un Médiateur qui ne remplit plus les conditions nécessaires à l'exercice de ses fonctions ou qui a commis une faute grave peut être déclaré démissionnaire par la Cour de justice des Communautés européennes, à la demande du Parlement européen.

Article 9

1. Le Médiateur exerce ses fonctions en pleine indépendance, dans l'intérêt général des Communautés et des citoyens de l'Union. Dans l'accomplissement de ses fonctions, il ne sollicite ni n'accepte d'instructions d'aucun gouvernement ni d'aucun organisme. Il s'abstient de tout acte incompatible avec le caractère de ses fonctions.

2. Au moment d'entrer en fonction, le Médiateur prend l'engagement solennel devant la Cour de justice des Communautés européennes d'exercer ses fonctions en pleine indépendance et impartialité et de respecter, pendant toute la durée de ses fonctions et après la cessation de celles-ci, les obligations découlant de sa charge, notamment les devoirs d'honnêteté et de délicatesse quant à l'acceptation, après cette cessation, de certaines fonctions ou de certains avantages.

Article 10

1. Pendant la durée de ses fonctions, le Médiateur ne peut exercer aucune autre fonction politique ou administrative ou activité professionnelle, rémunérée ou non.

2. Pour ce qui concerne sa rémunération, ses indemnités et sa pension d'ancienneté, le Médiateur est assimilé à un juge de la Cour de justice des Communautés européennes.

3. Les articles 12 à 15 inclus et 18 du Protocole sur les privilèges et immunités des Communautés européennes s'appliquent au Médiateur et aux fonctionnaires et agents de son secrétariat.

Article 11

1. Le Médiateur est assisté par un secrétariat, dont il nomme le principal responsable.

2. Les fonctionnaires et agents du secrétariat du Médiateur sont soumis aux règlements et réglementations applicables aux fonctionnaires et autres agents des Communautés européennes. Leur nombre est arrêté chaque année dans le cadre de la procédure budgétaire.

3. Les fonctionnaires des Communautés européennes et des États membres qui sont nommés agents du secrétariat du Médiateur sont détachés dans l'intérêt du service, avec la garantie d'une réintégration de plein droit dans leur institution d'origine.

4. Pour les questions concernant son personnel, le Médiateur est assimilé aux institutions au sens de l'article 1er du statut des fonctionnaires des Communautés européennes.

Article 12  : supprimé

Article 13

Le siège du Médiateur est celui du Parlement européen.

Article 14

Le Médiateur adopte les dispositions d'exécution de la présente décision.

Article 15

Le premier Médiateur nommé après l'entrée en vigueur du traité sur l'Union européenne est nommé pour la période restant à courir jusqu'au terme de la législature.

Article 16  : supprimé

Article 17

La présente décision est publiée au Journal officiel des Communautés européennes . Elle entre en vigueur à la date de sa publication.

(1)Adoptée le 9 mars 1994 (JO L 113 du 4.5.1994, p. 15) et modifiée par décisions du Parlement du 14 mars 2002 (JO L 92 du 9.4.2002, p. 13) et du 18 juin 2008 (JO L 189 du 17.7.2008, p. 25).
(2)Règlement (CE) n° 1049/2001 du Parlement européen et du Conseil du 30 mai 2001 relatif à l'accès du public aux documents du Parlement européen, du Conseil et de la Commission (JO L 145 du 31.5.2001, p. 43).

• Lodge a complaint
  • Request for information
Questions about Europe?Your Europe - The portal to on-line European and national public servicesTreaty of Lisbon

Statute

Available languages: bg.es.cs.da.de.et.el.en.fr.ga.hr.it.lv.lt.hu.mt.nl.pl.pt.ro.sk.sl.fi.sv

Decision of the European Parliament on the regulations and general conditions governing the performance of the Ombudsman's duties(1)

The European Parliament,

Having regard to the Treaties establishing the European Communities, and in particular Article 195(4) of the Treaty establishing the European Community and Article 107d(4) of the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community,

Having regard to the opinion of the Commission,

Having regard to the Council's approval,

Whereas the regulations and general conditions governing the performance of the Ombudsman's duties should be laid down, in compliance with the provisions of the Treaties establishing the European Communities;

Whereas the conditions under which a complaint may be referred to the Ombudsman should be established as well as the relationship between the performance of the duties of Ombudsman and legal or administrative proceedings;

Whereas the Ombudsman, who may also act on his own initiative, must have access to all the elements required for the performance of his duties; whereas to that end Community institutions and bodies are obliged to supply the Ombudsman, at his request, with any information which he requests of them and without prejudice to the Ombudsman's obligation not to divulge such information; whereas access to classified information or documents, in particular to sensitive documents within the meaning of Article 9 of Regulation (EC) No 1049/2001(2) , should be subject to compliance with the rules on security of the Community institution or body concerned; whereas the institutions or bodies supplying classified information or documents as mentioned in the first subparagraph of Article 3(2) should inform the Ombudsman of such classification; whereas for the implementation of the rules provided for in the first subparagraph of Article 3(2), the Ombudsman should have agreed in advance with the institution or body concerned the conditions for treatment of classified information or documents and other information covered by the obligation of professional secrecy; whereas if the Ombudsman finds that the assistance requested is not forthcoming, he shall inform the European Parliament, which shall make appropriate representations;

Whereas it is necessary to lay down the procedures to be followed where the Ombudsman's enquiries reveal cases of maladministration; whereas provision should also be made for the submission of a comprehensive report by the Ombudsman to the European Parliament at the end of each annual session;

Whereas the Ombudsman and his staff are obliged to treat in confidence any information which they have acquired in the course of their duties; whereas the Ombudsman is, however, obliged to inform the competent authorities of facts which he considers might relate to criminal law and which have come to his attention in the course of his enquiries;

Whereas provision should be made for the possibility of co-operation between the Ombudsman and authorities of the same type in certain Member States, in compliance with the national laws applicable;

Whereas it is for the European Parliament to appoint the Ombudsman at the beginning of its mandate and for the duration thereof, choosing him from among persons who are Union citizens and offer every requisite guarantee of independence and competence;

Whereas conditions should be laid down for the cessation of the Ombudsman's duties;

Whereas the Ombudsman must perform his duties with complete independence and give a solemn undertaking before the Court of Justice of the European Communities that he will do so when taking up his duties; whereas activities incompatible with the duties of Ombudsman should be laid down as should the remuneration, privileges and immunities of the Ombudsman;

Whereas provisions should be laid down regarding the officials and servants of the Ombudsman's secretariat which will assist him and the budget thereof; whereas the seat of the Ombudsman should be that of the European Parliament;

Whereas it is for the Ombudsman to adopt the implementing provisions for this Decision; whereas furthermore certain transitional provisions should be laid down for the first Ombudsman to be appointed after the entry into force of the EU Treaty,

HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

 

Article 1

1. The regulations and general conditions governing the performance of the Ombudsman's duties shall be as laid down by this Decision in accordance with Article 195(4) of the Treaty establishing the European Community and Article 107d(4) of the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community.

2. The Ombudsman shall perform his duties in accordance with the powers conferred on the Community institutions and bodies by the Treaties.

3. The Ombudsman may not intervene in cases before courts or question the soundness of a court's ruling.

 

Article 2

1. Within the framework of the aforementioned Treaties and the conditions laid down therein, the Ombudsman shall help to uncover maladministration in the activities of the Community institutions and bodies, with the exception of the Court of Justice and the Court of First Instance acting in their judicial role, and make recommendations with a view to putting an end to it. No action by any other authority or person may be the subject of a complaint to the Ombudsman.

2. Any citizen of the Union or any natural or legal person residing or having his registered office in a Member State of the Union may, directly or through a Member of the European Parliament, refer a complaint to the Ombudsman in respect of an instance of maladministration in the activities of Community institutions or bodies, with the exception of the Court of Justice and the Court of First Instance acting in their judicial role. The Ombudsman shall inform the institution or body concerned as soon as a complaint is referred to him.

3. The complaint must allow the person lodging the complaint and the object of the complaint to be identified; the person lodging the complaint may request that his complaint remain confidential.

4. A complaint shall be made within two years of the date on which the facts on which it is based came to the attention of the person lodging the complaint and must be preceded by the appropriate administrative approaches to the institutions and bodies concerned.

5. The Ombudsman may advise the person lodging the complaint to address it to another authority.

6. Complaints submitted to the Ombudsman shall not affect time-limits for appeals in administrative or judicial proceedings.

7. When the Ombudsman, because of legal proceedings in progress or concluded concerning the facts which have been put forward, has to declare a complaint inadmissible or terminate consideration of it, the outcome of any enquiries he has carried out up to that point shall be filed definitively.

8. No complaint may be made to the Ombudsman that concerns work relationships between the Community institutions and bodies and their officials and other servants unless all the possibilities for the submission of internal administrative requests and complaints, in particular the procedures referred to in Article 90(1) and (2) of the Staff Regulations, have been exhausted by the person concerned and the time limits for replies by the authority thus petitioned have expired.

9. The Ombudsman shall as soon as possible inform the person lodging the complaint of the action he has taken on it.

 

Article 3

1. The Ombudsman shall, on his own initiative or following a complaint, conduct all the enquiries which he considers justified to clarify any suspected maladministration in the activities of Community institutions and bodies. He shall inform the institution or body concerned of such action, which may submit any useful comment to him.

2. The Community institutions and bodies shall be obliged to supply the Ombudsman with any information he has requested from them and give him access to the files concerned. Access to classified information or documents, in particular to sensitive documents within the meaning of Article 9 of Regulation (EC) No 1049/2001, shall be subject to compliance with the rules on security of the Community institution or body concerned.

The institutions or bodies supplying classified information or documents as mentioned in the previous subparagraph shall inform the Ombudsman of such classification.

For the implementation of the rules provided for in the first subparagraph, the Ombudsman shall have agreed in advance with the institution or body concerned the conditions for treatment of classified information or documents and other information covered by the obligation of professional secrecy.

The institutions or bodies concerned shall give access to documents originating in a Member State and classed as secret by law or regulation only where that Member State has given its prior agreement.

They shall give access to other documents originating in a Member State after having informed the Member State concerned.

In both cases, in accordance with Article 4, the Ombudsman may not divulge the content of such documents.

Officials and other servants of Community institutions and bodies must testify at the request of the Ombudsman; they shall continue to be bound by the relevant rules of the Staff Regulations, notably their duty of professional secrecy.

3. The Member States' authorities shall be obliged to provide the Ombudsman, whenever he may so request, via the Permanent Representations of the Member States to the European Communities, with any information that may help to clarify instances of maladministration by Community institutions or bodies unless such information is covered by laws or regulations on secrecy or by provisions preventing its being communicated. Nonetheless, in the latter case, the Member State concerned may allow the Ombudsman to have this information provided that he undertakes not to divulge it.

4. If the assistance which he requests is not forthcoming, the Ombudsman shall inform the European Parliament, which shall make appropriate representations.

5. As far as possible, the Ombudsman shall seek a solution with the institution or body concerned to eliminate the instance of maladministration and satisfy the complaint.

6. If the Ombudsman finds there has been maladministration, he shall inform the institution or body concerned, where appropriate making draft recommendations. The institution or body so informed shall send the Ombudsman a detailed opinion within three months.

7. The Ombudsman shall then send a report to the European Parliament and to the institution or body concerned. He may make recommendations in his report. The person lodging the complaint shall be informed by the Ombudsman of the outcome of the inquiries, of the opinion expressed by the institution or body concerned and of any recommendations made by the Ombudsman.

8. At the end of each annual session the Ombudsman shall submit to the European Parliament a report on the outcome of his inquiries.

 

Article 4

1. The Ombudsman and his staff, to whom Article 287 of the Treaty establishing the European Community and Article 194 of the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community shall apply, shall be required not to divulge information or documents which they obtain in the course of their inquiries. They shall, in particular, be required not to divulge any classified information or any document supplied to the Ombudsman, in particular sensitive documents within the meaning of Article 9 of Regulation (EC) No 1049/2001, or documents falling within the scope of Community legislation regarding the protection of personal data, as well as any information which could harm the person lodging the complaint or any other person involved, without prejudice to paragraph 2.

2. If, in the course of inquiries, he learns of facts which he considers might relate to criminal law, the Ombudsman shall immediately notify the competent national authorities via the Permanent Representations of the Member States to the European Communities and, in so far as the case falls within its powers, the competent Community institution, body or service in charge of combating fraud; if appropriate, the Ombudsman shall also notify the Community institution or body with authority over the official or servant concerned, which may apply the second paragraph of Article 18 of the Protocol on the Privileges and Immunities of the European Communities. The Ombudsman may also inform the Community institution or body concerned of the facts calling into question the conduct of a member of their staff from a disciplinary point of view.

 

Article 4a

The Ombudsman and his staff shall deal with requests for public access to documents, other than those referred to in Article 4(1), in accordance with the conditions and limits provided for in Regulation (EC) No 1049/2001.

 

Article 5

1. In so far as it may help to make his enquiries more efficient and better safeguard the rights and interests of persons who make complaints to him, the Ombudsman may cooperate with authorities of the same type in certain Member States provided he complies with the national law applicable. The Ombudsman may not by this means demand to see documents to which he would not have access under Article 3.

2. Within the scope of his functions as laid down in Article 195 of the Treaty establishing the European Community and Article 107d of the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community and avoiding any duplication with the activities of the other institutions or bodies, the Ombudsman may, under the same conditions, cooperate with institutions and bodies of Member States in charge of the promotion and protection of fundamental rights.

 

Article 6

1. The Ombudsman shall be appointed by the European Parliament after each election to the European Parliament for the duration of its mandate. He shall be eligible for reappointment.

2. The Ombudsman shall be chosen from among persons who are Union citizens, have full civil and political rights, offer every guarantee of independence, and meet the conditions required for the exercise of the highest judicial office in their country or have the acknowledged competence and experience to undertake the duties of Ombudsman.

 

Article 7

1. The Ombudsman shall cease to exercise his duties either at the end of his term of office or on his resignation or dismissal.

2. Save in the event of his dismissal, the Ombudsman shall remain in office until his successor has been appointed.

3. In the event of early cessation of duties, a successor shall be appointed within three months of the office's falling vacant for the remainder of the parliamentary term.

 

Article 8

An Ombudsman who no longer fulfils the conditions required for the performance of his duties or is guilty of serious misconduct may be dismissed by the Court of Justice of the European Communities at the request of the European Parliament.

 

Article 9

1. The Ombudsman shall perform his duties with complete independence, in the general interest of the Communities and of the citizens of the Union. In the performance of his duties he shall neither seek nor accept instructions from any government or other body. He shall refrain from any act incompatible with the nature of his duties.

2. When taking up his duties, the Ombudsman shall give a solemn undertaking before the Court of Justice of the European Communities that he will perform his duties with complete independence and impartiality and that during and after his term of office he will respect the obligations arising therefrom, in particular his duty to behave with integrity and discretion as regards the acceptance, after he has ceased to hold office, of certain appointments or benefits.

 

Article 10

1. During his term of office, the Ombudsman may not engage in any political or administrative duties, or any other occupation, whether gainful or not.

2. The Ombudsman shall have the same rank in terms of remuneration, allowances and pension as a judge at the Court of Justice of the European Communities.

3. Articles 12 to 15 and Article 18 of the Protocol on the Privileges and Immunities of the European Communities shall apply to the Ombudsman and to the officials and servants of his secretariat.

 

Article 11

1. The Ombudsman shall be assisted by a secretariat, the principal officer of which he shall appoint.

2. The officials and servants of the Ombudsman's secretariat shall be subject to the rules and regulations applicable to officials and other servants of the European Communities. Their number shall be adopted each year as part of the budgetary procedure.

3. Officials of the European Communities and of the Member States appointed to the Ombudsman's secretariat shall be seconded in the interests of the service and guaranteed automatic reinstatement in their institution of origin.

4. In matters concerning his staff, the Ombudsman shall have the same status as the institutions within the meaning of Article 1 of the Staff Regulations of Officials of the European Communities.

 

Article 12  : Deleted

 

Article 13

The seat of the Ombudsman shall be that of the European Parliament.

 

Article 14

The Ombudsman shall adopt the implementing provisions for this Decision.

 

Article 15

The first Ombudsman to be appointed after the entry into force of the EU Treaty shall be appointed for the remainder of the parliamentary term.

 

Article 16  : Deleted

 

Article 17

This Decision shall be published in the Official Journal of the European Communities . It shall enter into force on the date of its publication.

(1)Adopted by Parliament on 9 March 1994 (OJ L 113, 4.5.1994, p. 15) and amended by its decisions of 14 March 2002 (OJ L 92, 9.4.2002, p. 13) and 18 June 2008 (OJ L 189, 17.7.2008, p. 25).
(2)Regulation (EC) No 1049/2001 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 30 May 2001 regarding public access to European Parliament, Council and Commission documents (OJ L 145, 31.5.2001, p. 43).